Local Child Death Contacts

If the  details you require are not listed here, please contact your Local Safeguarding Children Board.  Please note that this page now also contains the contact details for the Essex, Southend and Thurrock CDOPs (scroll to bottom of page).

For the full national CDOP list please refer to the Department for Education website

Barking and Dagenham

SPOC / CDOP Manager: Liz Winnett (tel: 020 8227 3578, cdop.bdh@nhs.net)

Designated Doctor:
Dr Elhassan Magid, (tel: 020 8522 9627, PA: 020 8 552 9683, elhassan.magid@nhs.net)

Chair: Matthew Cole, Joint Director of Public Health, (matthew.cole@lbbd.gov.uk or matthewcole@nhs.net)

Barnet

SPOC: CDOP Coordinator (tel: 020 8359 3560, Barnet.CDOP@barnet.gcsx.gov.uk) 

Designated Paediatrician:  Nicola Feuchtwang, Consultant Paediatrician, Barnet & Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust, (tel: 020 8732 6272, nicola.feuchtwang@nhs.net)

Chair: Natalia Clifford (tel: 020 8359 6299, natalia.clifford@harrow.gov.uk)

Hospital: Barnet Hospital, Wellhouse Lane, EN5 3DJ

Child Death Overview Co-ordinator: Mercy Cefaz, 020 8359 3560: barnet.cdop@barnet.gcsx.gov.uk

Bexley

SPOC: Sarah Matton, CDOP Administrator (tel: 020 3045 3441) bscb@bexley.gov.uk

CDOP notifications: bscb@bexley.gov.uk

Designated Paediatrician Child Deaths: Dr Thomas Jacob (thomasjacob@nhs.net)

CDOP Chair: Jill May (tel: 020 8298 6021, jill.may@nhs.net)

Brent

SPOC Generic Contact      Details: BRECCG.BrentCDOP@nhs.net (all Child death notifications to be sent to this emai address)

SPOC (9am-5pm, weekends and bank holidays): Brent CCG Safeguarding Children Team (tel: 07990838513)

SPOC (5pm-9am, Mon – Sun including bank holidays): Brent Social Care EDT (tel: 020 8937 4875)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Arlene Boroda, Designated Doctor for Safeguarding Children and for CDOP (tel: 07990 838 513, arlene.boroda@nhs.net)

Chair: Dr Melanie Smith (tel: 020 8900 5381, melanie.smith@brent.gov.uk)

Hospitals: Northwick Park Hospital
, Watford Road, HA1 3UJ (contact for child death is the Paediatric Child Protection Department (020 8869 2999, 8am – 4pm)

Bromley

SPOC (secure email): (Tel: 020 8461 7816, cdop@bromley.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Doctor for Unexpected Deaths: Dr David Osoba (david.osoba@nhs.net)

Chair: Dr Jenny Selway, Consultant in Public Health, London Borough of Bromley (jenny.selway@bromley.gov.uk)

Camden

SPOC: Bodil Mlynarska, PO, Safeguarding and Social Care (tel: 020 7974 6999, fax: 020 7974 6708, bodil.mlynarska@camden.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Gita Croft, Consultant Paediatrician, Kentish Town Health Centre (tel: 0203317 2200 gitacroft@nhs.net)

Chair: Jason Strelitz, Assistant Director, Consultant in Public Health, Camden PCT (tel: 0207 527 1218, Jason.Strelitz@islington.gov.uk)

Croydon

SPOC and Business Coordinator: Stephanie Harrison (tel 020 8239 4446, Secure Fax: 0208 256 3505), stephanie.harrison@croydon.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatrician:
Dr Shade Alu, Consultant Community Paediatrician and Designated Doctor for Safeguarding (tel: 020 8274 6379, shadealu@nhs.net)

Chair: Dawn Cox, Public Health Principal (tel: 020 8726 6000 extn 84489, Dawn.Cox@croydon.gov.uk)

Ealing

SPOC:  Lesley Tilson – co-ordinator ( tele: 0208 967 5276, fax 0208 967 5339; email:  lesley.tilson@nhs.net)

Designated Doctor: Dr Ramnik Mathur (tel:  020 8967 5000, famnikmathur@nhs.net)

Chair: Dr Jackie Chin, Consultant in Public Health, (chinj@ealing.gov.uk)

Enfield

SPOC:  Safeguarding Officer  tel: 020 8702 5600; secure email: beh-tr.enf-pct-ECSCCR@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Piyusha Kapila, North Middlesex University Hospital (tel: 020 8887 2000 – switchboard, piyusha.kapila@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Austin Isaacs, Barnet Hospital (tel. 0208 216 4873, austin.isaacs@nhs.net)

Chair: Glenn Stewart: Assistant Director of Public Health (tel: 0208 379 5328, glenn.stewart@nhs.net)

CDOP Coordinator: Judy Dennis (tel. 020 8379 2722 / 2270, cdop@enfield.gov.uk)

Greenwich

CSC MASH Team: 020 8921 3172, MASH-referrals@royalgreenwich.gov.uk

Chair: 
 Dr Nikesh Parekh, Public Health Associate, (tel 020 89213853, nikesh.parekh@royalgreenwich.gov.uk, or nikeshparekh@nhs.net.cjsm.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Grace Pereira, (tel 020 8294 3142, grace.pereira@nhs.net)

Hackney & City of London

SPOC: Kerry Littleford, Child Death Overview Panel Co-ordinator (tel: 020 8356 1070, fax: 020 8356 4734, kerry.littleford@hackney.gov.uk)

Consultant Community Paediatrician,  Dr Carla Stephen, Designated Doctor for Child Deaths (tel: 020 7683 4472, fax: 020 7014 7271, carla.stephen@homerton.gov.uk)  

Chair: Dr Penny Bevan, Director of Public Health, London Borough of Hackney (tel: 020 7683 4167, penny.bevan@hackney.gov.uk)

Hospital: Homerton University Hospital, Homerton Row, E9 6SR (tel: 020 8510 7877)

Hammersmith and Fulham

SPOC: Elaine Lee, Child Death Overview Panel (CDOP) (tel:  0203 3504330, email:   (CLCCG.tri-bCDOP@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician:  Dr Nelly Ninis, Consultant Paediatrician, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (nellyninis@nhs.net.cjsm.net)

CDOP Chair: Cynthia Folarin (cfolarin@Westminster.gov.uk)

Haringey

Child Death Co-ordinator for Health/Paed Liaison: Suzanne Dale (tel: 020 8489 3073, Mob: 07983566631, suzanne.dale@nhs.net)  )

Designated Paediatrician: Dr David Elliman, Great Ormond Street Hospital (tel: 020 7405 9200 ext 5137, mobile 07786 934792, Ellimd@gosh.nhs.uk)

Chair: Susan Otiti, Assistant Director of Public Health (Children & Young People), NHS Haringey, (tel: 020 8442 2629,  (susan.otiti@haringey.gov.uk)

Harrow

Designated Nurse for Rapid Response and CDOP: Sue Sheldon (tel: 020 8966 1035, suesheldon1@nhs.net)

CDOP Co-ordinator: Marie Hourihan (marie.hourihan@nhs.net)

CDOP Chair: Andrew Howe, Director of Public Health (tel: 020 8420 9501, andrew.howe@harrow.gov.uk)

Havering

SPOC/CDOP Coordinator: Gloria Okewale, Child Death Overview Panel Coordinator (tel: 01708 434 633, cdopadminhavering@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Geeta Subramanian (Greeta.Subramanian@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk) and Jeewan Rawal mailto:Jeewan.Rawal@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk)

Chair: Mark Ansell, Consultant in Public Health (tel: 01708 431 818, mark.ansell@havering.gov.uk)

Hillingdon

CDOP Coordinator/SPOC:  Kathy Brogan – (tel: 01895 279 184 secure fax: 01895 279 631: email: kathy.brogan@nhs.net)

Designated Doctor: Dr Jide Menakaya, (tel: 01895 238 282, email: jide.menakaya@nhs.net)

Chair: Dr Christina Atchison, Consultant in Public Health, (catchison@hillingdon.gov.uk)

Hounslow

CDOP Coordinator: Joanna Leader, (tel: 020 8583 3068, joanna.leader-GCSX@hounslow.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Doctor for Child Deaths: Meenal Chaggar (tel: 020 8583 3068, meenal.chaggar@nhs.net)

Chair: Imran Choudhry, Director of Public Health (contact via CDOP Coordinator)

Islington

CDOP/SPOC: Miles Parmiter (tel: 020 3316 1950, fax: 020 7690 2860. whh-tr.SPOC@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Tracy Ellenbogen, Designated Doctor for Child Protection, Islington PCT (tel: 020 73316 1882, tracy.ellenbogen@nhs.net)

Chair: Jason Strelitz, Assistant Director, Consultant in Public Health, Camden PCT (tel: 0207 527 1218, Jason.Strelitz@islington.gov.uk)

Kensington and Chelsea

SPOC: Elaine Lee, Child Death Overview Panel (CDOP) (tel:  0203 3504330, email:   (CLCCG.tri-bCDOP@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Nelly Ninis, Consultant Paediatrician, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (nellyninis@nhs.net.cjsm.net)

CDOP Chair:  Cynthia Folarin (cfolarin@Westminster.gov.uk)

Kingston Upon Thames

CDOP Coodinator: Sarah Bennett, Child Death Overview Panel (tel: 020 8831 6257, secure fax: 020 8891 7719, email: sarah.bennett@achievingforchildren.org.uk; secure email: sarah.bennett@richmond.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Rowan Heath (rowan.heath@nhs.net) and Dr Sue Luck (suzanne.luck@nhs.net), Kingston Hospital NHS Trust (tel: 020 8934 3405)

Chair: Amanda Boodhoo, Associate Director of Public Health, Royal Borough of Kingston (07799 622 327, amanda.boodhoo@nhs.net)

Lambeth

SPOC/CDOP Co-ordinator: Roselyn Blackman, Southwark & Lambeth Public Health Department (roselyn.blackman@southwark.gov.uk.cjsm.net, tel: 0207 525 4105)

Designated Dr for CDOP: Dr Davina Mackenzie (davinamackenzie@nhs.net, 0203 049 6111)

Chair: Abdu Mohiddin, Consultant in Public Health (abdu.mohiddin@nhs.net, tel: 0207 525 3306)

Lewisham

SPOC: Helen Leahey (tel: 0203 049 2088, fax: 020 7138 1305, Helen.leahey@nhs.net, cc: lh.childdeath@nhs.net)

Designated Doctor: Dr Sarah Panjwani, Consultant Community Paediatrician (tel: 020 7138 1342, sarah.panjwani@nhs.net)

Chair: Pauline Cross, Consultant Midwife in Public Health Medicine (tel: 07988 865 307, pauline.crossgcsx@lewisham.gcsx.gov.uk)

CDOP Team email: LH.childdeath@nhs.net

Merton

SPOC Manager: Lorraine Beckford, Merton CCG (tel: 020 8544 6128, fax: 020 3458 5408, MerCCG.spoc@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr. Benedicta Ogeah (tel: 020 8296 4852, mailto:benedicta.ogeah@epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk)

Chair: Dr Kay Eilbert, Director of Public Health for Merton (tel: 020 8 545 4836, kay.eilbert@merton.gov.uk)

Hospitals: St Helier Hospital, Surrey, SM5 1AA (contact for child death is Linda Cunningham, tel: 020 8296 3377) and St George’s Hospital, Tooting, SW17 0QT (contact for child death is Kelly Slade, tel: 020 8725 1686). Please note there is no hospital within the Merton boundary.

Newham

CDOP Overview Panel Coordinator: Nicola Needham (tel: 0203 373 6932, cdopnewham@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Susan Liebeschuetz (tel: 020 7363 8003,   susan.liebeschuetz@bartshealth,nhs.uk )

Interim Chair: Meradin Peachey, (0203 373 3784, meradin.peachey@newham.gov.uk)

CDOP Administrator: Nabeel Mahmood (tel: 020 3373 1645, nabeel.mahmood@newham.gov.uk)

Redbridge

SPOC/CDOP Coordinator: Monica Clarke, tel: 020 8708 5961/3289/5282, nem-tr.CDOP@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician/Vice Chair: Dr Sarah Luke, Designated Consultant Paediatrician for Safeguarding Children, Barking, Redbridge CCG, Designated doctor for Unexpected Children Death Redbridge CCG & Child Deaths Redbridge (tel: 020 8822 3987/39866, drsarah.luke@nhs.net)

Chair: Dr Gladys Xavier, CDOP Chair, Deputy Director of Public Health/ Head of Integrated Strategy and Commissioning, (tel: 020 8708 5732/5742 , gladys.xavier@redbridge.gov.uk)

Hospitals: King George Hospital, Ilford, IG3 8YB and Queens Hospital, Romford, RM7 OAG (Children Safeguarding Team, 01708 503 982)

Richmond Upon Thames

CDOP Coordinator: Sarah Bennett, Child Death Overview Panel (tel: 020 8831 6257, secure fax: 020 8891 7719, email: sarah.bennett@achievingforchildren.org.uk, secure email: sarah.bennett@richmond.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatricians: Dr Daniela Lessing (tel: 020 8831 6257, daniela.lessing@nhs.net)

Chair: Amanda Boodhoo, Associate Director of Public Health, Royal Borough of Kingston (07799 622 327, amanda.boodhoo@nhs.net)

Southwark

CDOP Co-ordinator & SPOC: Roselyn Blackman, Southwark & Lambeth Public Health Department (roselyn.blackman@southwark.gov.uk.cjsm.net, tel: 0207 525 4105)

Designated for Child Death: Dr Nikki Baatjes (tel: 020 3049 8195, fax: 020 3049 8195, fax 020 3049 8149 (n.baatjes@nhs.net or nikki.baatjes@southwarkpct.nhs.net)

Chair: Abdu Mohiddin, Consultant in Public Health, LB Lambeth (tel: 0207 525 0280, fax 020 7525 3236, email to abdu.mohiddin@nhs.net)

Sutton

SPOC Manager: Oonagh Bensberg,
LB Sutton (tel: 020 8770 5831, SPOC.CDOP@sutton.gcsx.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr. Benedicta Ogeah (tel: 020 8296 4852, mailto:benedicta.ogeah@epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk)

Chair: Dr Kay Eilbert, Director of Public Health for Merton (tel: 020 8 545 4836, kay.eilbert@merton.gov.uk)

Hospitals: St Helier Hospital, Surrey, SM5 1AA (contact for child death is Linda Cunningham, tel: 020 8296 3377) and St George’s Hospital, Tooting, SW17 0QT (contact for child death is Kelly Slade, tel: 020 8725 1686). Please note there is no hospital within the Merton boundary.

Tower Hamlets

SPOC: Hannah Tellam  (tel: 0208 983 3402, fax: 020 8 9781 9298, hannah.tellam@nhs.net)

CDOP Manager: Christine Martin (tel: 0208 980 3510, christine.martin1@nhs.net)

CDOP Notifications: BHNT.TowerHamletsCDOP@nhs.net

Designated Paediatricians: Dr Monika Bajaj (mbajaj@nhs.net and Dr Julia Hale, jhale@nhs.net, 020 8 980 3510)

CDOP Chair: Esther Trenchard-Mabere, Associate Director of Public Health, Tower Hamlets (0207 364 7389, esther.trenchard-mabere@towerhamlets.gov.uk)

Waltham Forest

SPOC (Interim): Bella Lowen (tel: 020 8496 3691, fax: 020 8496 6909, wfspoc@nhs.net)

CDOP co-ordinator (Interim): Bella Lowen (tel: 020 8496 3691, bella.lowen@walthamforest.gov.uk)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Christine Sloczynska (tel: 020 8430 7883, christine.slooczynska@nbelft.nhs.uk)

Chair: Joe McDonnel, Interim Director of Public Health, Waltham Forest (tel: 020 8496 4632, joe.mcdonnell@walthamforet.gov.uk)

Wandsworth

CDOP: Kelly Slade (tel: 020 8725 3756, wandsworth.cdop@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Serena Haywood (tel: 020 8725 3761, serena.haywood@stgeorges.nhs.uk)

Chair: Dr Peter Green, Designated Doctor for Child Safeguarding, (tel: 020 8725 3757, petergreen2@nhs.net)

Westminster

SPOC: Elaine Lee, Child Death Overview Panel (CDOP) (tel:  0203 3504330, email:   (CLCCG.tri-bCDOP@nhs.net)

Designated Paediatrician: Dr Nelly Ninis, Consultant Paediatrician, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (nellyninis@nhs.net.cjsm.net)

CDOP Chair: Cynthia Folarin (cfolarin@Westminster.gov.uk)

Essex, Southend and Thurrock

SPOC: Natalie Hariram, Child Death Review Administrator (tel: 01245 506 649, fax: 01245 506 649, cdr@essex.gov.uk) – please note that, although Natalie will not be in post until late June, all contact details are effective immediately.